Monday, April 19, 2021
Home Sports Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh Remember India's 2011 World Cup Triumph | Cricket...

Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh Remember India’s 2011 World Cup Triumph | Cricket News

Ten years on, Virender Sehwag and Yuvraj Singh took to social media to recollect and pay tribute to India’s 2011 ODI World Cup victory. The duo have been a part of the crew led by MS Dhoni, which defeated Sri Lanka within the last on the Wankhede Stadium on April 2, 2011. It was India’s second ODI World Cup trophy, after the 1983 victory. Taking to Twitter, Sehwag shared a crew celebration photograph with the trophy on the Wankhede Stadium, and he captioned it as, “April 2: 10 years ago , the moment of a lifetime. #TeamIndia”.

Meanwhile, Yuvraj posted a video on Twitter and wrote, “April 2, 2011 – a day when history was created! We wanted to win the WC for India & for the master @sachin_rt who carried the nation’s expectations over decades! Indebted to be able to represent India & bring glory to our nation #AlwaysBleedBlue #WC2011 @ICC @BCCI”.

In the video, Yuvraj revealed that Team India needed to win the World Cup trophy for Sachin.

“The whole team wanted to win the World Cup so badly, specially for Sachin because it was his last World Cup. We also wanted to win in India, something which wasn’t done before,” he stated.

During the 2011 World Cup, India defeated Sri Lanka within the last by six wickets.

In reply to Sri Lanka’s rating, the hosts reached 277 for 4 in 48.2 overs, with Dhoni hitting the successful six. Yuvraj was additionally unbeaten for India, setting an important successful partnership with Dhoni and contributing 21 runs to the chase.

The all-rounder additionally put in bowling show, taking the wickets of Kumar Sangakkara and Thilan Samaraweera. He was named the Player of the Tournament for his performances with the bat and ball.

Sehwag, alternatively, had a disappointing outing within the last, scoring a two-ball duck as an opener.


Since the win in 2011, there have been two extra World Cups held in 2015 and 2019 respectively, with Australia and England popping out on prime respectively.

During the latest World Cup in 2019, Virat Kohli led India to a semi-final end, shedding to runners-up New Zealand.

Topics talked about on this article

Leave a Reply

All countries
Total confirmed cases
Updated on April 19, 2021 7:44 am

Most Popular

Most Popular

Recent Comments

Chat on WhatsApp
How can we help you?