21.7 C
Friday, September 24, 2021

NASCAR lineup at Bristol: Starting order, pole for Saturday’s playoff race without qualifying

The beginning lineup for Saturday’s NASCAR Cup Series playoff elimination race at Bristol Motor Speedway was set by making use of the statistical system NASCAR is utilizing for the vast majority of Cup races in 2021.

Drivers’ beginning positions for the Bass Pro Shops Night Race, the third race of the Cup Series playoffs and the ultimate race within the Round of 16 (7:30 p.m. ET; NBCSN, TSN5, PRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio), had been primarily based on 4 elements:

  • Driver’s ending place from the earlier race (25 p.c)
  • Car proprietor’s ending place from the earlier race (25 p.c)
  • Team proprietor factors rating (35 p.c)
  • Fastest lap from the earlier race (15 p.c)

NASCAR is conducting qualifying for simply eight of the 36 Cup Series factors races within the 2021 season. Seven of these races have already been run; the one remaining race with qualifying is the season-ending Championship 4 race at Phoenix Raceway in November.

Below is the beginning lineup, which was set without qualifying, for Saturday’s NASCAR Cup Series playoff elimination race on Bristol Motor Speedway’s 0.533-mile oval.

MORE: Watch Saturday’s NASCAR race reside with fuboTV (free 7-day trial)

Who gained the pole for the NASCAR race at Bristol?

Martin Truex Jr. was assigned the pole place primarily based on NASCAR’s mathematical system. Truex is locked into the Round of 12 after his win final weekend at Richmond. He completed fourth within the playoff opener at Darlington. Overall, he’s third within the factors standings.  

Next to him will probably be his Joe Gibbs Racing teammate Denny Hamlin, who gained at Darlington and completed second at Richmond. He’s second in factors.

MORE: NASCAR playoffs, defined

Behind Truex and Hamlin will probably be Joey Logano and Chase Elliott in third and fourth, respectively. They will lead the 13 drivers who will probably be racing for playoff spots Saturday evening.

Under NASCAR’s playoff guidelines, the highest 16 spots in Saturday’s discipline went to the 16 playoff drivers, however the beginning order was primarily based on the mathematical system NASCAR has used for the vast majority of its races this season.

MORE: NASCAR transferring Clash to LA for 2022 season

NASCAR Cup playoff standings

Three drivers are already locked into the Round of 12 heading into the Bristol race. Denny Hamlin was the primary when he gained the playoff opener at Darlington. Kyle Larson (clinched on factors) and Martin Truex Jr. (race winner) adopted within the subsequent race at Richmond.

The backside 4 non-winning drivers after the Bristol race will probably be eradicated from the playoffs. The remaining 12 drivers will advance to the Round of 12, which is able to start Sept. 26 at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.  

Pos. Driver Points
1 x-Kyle Larson 2151
2 x-Denny Hamlin 2127
3 x-Martin Truex Jr. 2113
4 Joey Logano 2093
5 Ryan Blaney 2081
6 Kevin Harvick 2078
7 Chase Elliott 2072
8 Christopher Bell 2070
9 Brad Keselowski 2066
10 Kyle Busch 2061
11 Aric Almirola 2056
12 Kurt Busch 2053
13 Alex Bowman 2053
14 Tyler Reddick 2048
15 William Byron 2035
16 Michael McDowell 2015

x-Clinched berth in Round of 12.

NASCAR beginning lineup at Bristol

NASCAR used a mathematical system to set the beginning lineup for Saturday’s playoff elimination race at Bristol Motor Speedway, the Bass Pro Shops Night Race. Thirty-eight automobiles had been entered for the race. Playoff drivers are denoted by “P-” subsequent to their names.

Start pos. Driver Car No. Team
1 P-Martin Truex Jr. 19 Joe Gibbs Racing
2 P-Denny Hamlin 11 Joe Gibbs Racing
3 P-Joey Logano 22 Team Penske
4 P-Chase Elliott 9 Hendrick Motorsports
5 P-Kyle Larson 5 Hendrick Motorsports
6 P-Christopher Bell 20 Joe Gibbs Racing
7 P-Ryan Blaney 12 Team Penske
8 P-Kevin Harvick 4 Stewart-Haas Racing
9 P-Kyle Busch 18 Joe Gibbs Racing
10 P-Brad Keselowski 2 Team Penske
11 P-Alex Bowman 48 Hendrick Motorsports
12 P-Aric Almirola 10 Stewart-Haas Racing
13 P-Tyler Reddick 8 Richard Childress Racing
14 P-William Byron 24 Hendrick Motorsports
15 P-Kurt Busch 1 Chip Ganassi Racing
16 P-Michael McDowell 34 Front Row Motorsports
17 Ross Chastain 42 Chip Ganassi Racing
18 Austin Dillon 3 Richard Childress Racing
19 Matt DiBenedetto 21 Wood Brothers Racing
20 Chase Briscoe 14 Stewart-Haas Racing
21 Daniel Suarez 99 Trackhouse Racing
22 Erik Jones 43 Richard Petty Motorsports
23 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing
24 Ryan Newman 6 Roush Fenway Racing
25 Chris Buescher 17 Roush Fenway Racing
26 Cole Custer 41 Stewart-Haas Racing
27 Ryan Preece 37 JTG Daugherty Racing
28 Bubba Wallace 23 23XI Racing
29 Justin Haley 77 Spire Motorsports
30 Anthony Alfredo 38 Front Row Motorsports
31 Corey LaJoie 7 Spire Motorsports
32 BJ McLeod 78 Live Fast Motorsports
33 Josh Bilicki 52 Rick Ware Racing
34 Quin Houff 00 StarCom Racing
35 JJ Yeley 51 Petty Ware Racing
36 Garrett Smithley 53 Rick Ware Racing
37 James Davison 15 Rick Ware Racing
38 David Starr 66 Motorsports Business Management

#Note-Author Name – Tom Gatto

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles