21.3 C
Tuesday, September 28, 2021

Abhishek captures first gold of National Athletics Championship

Hyderabad: Abhishek Pal captured the first gold of the sixtieth National Open Athletics Championship when he cruised to victory within the males’s 5,000 metres occasion at JN Stadium, Hanamkonda, Warangal on Wednesday. The 24-year-old Railway athlete clocked 14:16.35s. The girls’s 5000 metres gold went to Parul Chaudhury, additionally of Railways. Parul timed 15:59.69s.

Pal, a 2016 silver medallist in 10000m in Junior Asian Championship, needed to keep at bay the problem from Dharmender and Ajay Kumar, each Services.

“I was very comfortable and I was sure that I would win the medal,” mentioned Pal, whose father is a farmer in Amethi (Uttar Pradesh). He has been successful medals within the nationwide circuit both in 5000 metres or 10000. He was the winner in 10000 metres gold whereas he returned with silver in 5000m within the Patiala Federation Cup. However, he has opted out of the ten,000 metres occasion on this meet.

Hyderabad News

click on right here for extra Hyderabad News

For Parul, it was a candy victory. The 26-year-old athlete had gained the National Open gold in 5000m in 2019 in Ranchi. Winner of the bronze medal within the 2019 Asian Championship, Parul breezed previous Komal Chandrakant Jagadale and Sanjivani Baburao Jadhav to take the honours on this girls’s occasion.

Parul Chaudhary, who gained the ladies’s 5000m gold

Pavitra Venkatesh scaled 3.90m within the first try and seize the ladies’s pole vault gold. The 19-year-old, who hails from Salem in Tamil Nadu, is a former junior nationwide report holder and had certified for the World University Games which was scheduled to be held in April this yr in Chengdu (China) was postponed to at least one yr because of Covid-19 pandemic.

Pavitra beat the problem of Mariya Jaison and Krishna Rachan, each of Railways. Mariya was closed with a 3.80m vault.

5000m: 1. Abhishek Pal (Railways) 14:16.35s, 2. Dharmender (Services), 3. Ajay Kumar (Services).

5000m: Parul Chaudhary (Railways) 15:59.69s, 2. Komal Chandrakant Jagadale (Mah), 3. Sanjivani Baburao Jadhav (Mah). Pole vault: Pavithra Venkatesh (Tamil Nadu) 3.90m, 2. Mariya Jaison (Railways), 3. Krishna Rachan (Railways).

Now you may get handpicked tales from Telangana Today on Telegram on a regular basis. Click the hyperlink to subscribe.

Click to comply with Telangana Today Facebook web page and Twitter .

#Note-Author Name – Telangana Today

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles