Tuesday, May 11, 2021
Home City News NOTA scored more than victory margin in 13 West Bengal seats; BJP...

NOTA scored more than victory margin in 13 West Bengal seats; BJP wins 8, Trinamool 5 | Kolkata News – Times of India

KOLKATA: It hurts to lose a detailed match but it surely hurts a candidate even more if the margin of defeat is much less than that of NOTA (none of the above) votes polled in that exact meeting. In Bengal, no much less than 13 seats noticed this development this time. In every of these seats, the NOTA votes polled have been greater than closing margin. Interestingly, it was the BJP that had the final chuckle in most of them.
BJP gained eight such seats — Dinhata, Balarampur, Ghatal, Kulti, Tapan, Kalyani, Moyna and Bankura — as in opposition to Trinamool which managed to win 5. The TMC gained Dantan, Tamluk, (*13*), Barjora and Ranibandh. In 2016, although, NOTA votes have been greater than the victory margin in as many as 21 constituencies.

The Dinhata seat which BJP’s Nisith Pramanik gained by defeating TMC heavyweight Udayan Guha will go down because the closest battle this yr with Guha shedding by merely 57 votes. Total quantity of NOTA votes polled stood at 1,537. Former cricketer Ashok Dinda, who gained from Moyna with a slender margin of 1,260 votes, noticed his constituency polling 1,335 NOTA votes.
At Bankura, the place actor Sayantika Banerjee misplaced to BJP’s Niladri Sekhar Dana by 1,468 votes, the whole quantity of NOTA votes polled was about 4,507 — one of the very best in the state.
Even in adjoining Barjora, NOTA votes stood at a document 4,903. TMC’s Alok Mukherjee gained by a 3,269 votes from right here. Incidentally, Barjora has a historical past of casting NOTA votes in excessive numbers. In 2016, CPM’s Sujit Chakraborty had gained from Barjora defeating actor Sohom Chakraborty of TMC (now an elected MLA from Chandipur) by a margin of solely 616 votes. The votes polled in favour of NOTA then was 4,235.
But there have additionally been seats the place each NOTA numbers and the margin have remained small. TMC’s Soumen Kumar Mahapatra gained again Tamluk with a margin of 793 votes; complete NOTA votes polled right here is 1,136. At Ghatal, BJP gained the seat by a margin of 966 votes and the NOTA votes polled right here is 1,305.
Ajay Poddar of BJP, who gained from Kulti, mentioned it was all about who gained the match. “Factors like NOTA do not finally matter as long as you enjoy every moment of the match,” he mentioned.
When requested about it, political commentator Biswanath Chakraborty mentioned, “Since NOTA was a relatively new thing, people were not aware of it initially. I believe that with time this number will increase.”

Leave a Reply

Tuesday, May 11, 2021
All countries
Total confirmed cases
Updated on May 10, 2021 11:32 pm

Most Popular

Most Trending

Recent Comments

Chat on WhatsApp
How can we help you?
%d bloggers like this: