Monday, May 10, 2021
Home Business Election to 3 RS seats in Kerala to be held on April...

Election to 3 RS seats in Kerala to be held on April 30: EC

The Election Commission (EC) on Monday declared that polls to the three Rajya Sabha seats from Kerala falling vacant later this month will be held on April 30. The ballot panel issued an in depth press observe for “conduct of biennial election to the council of states from Kerala to fill the seats of members retiring on April 21”.

Those retiring from these seats embody Abdul Wahab (IUML), Ok Ok Ragesh (CPI M) and Vayalar Ravi (Congress).

The EC mentioned notification for the polls will be issued on Tuesday and polling will be held between 9 am and 4 pm on April 30. The votes will be counted on the identical day.

  • All
  • (*3*)West Bengal

  • Tamil Nadu
  • Assam
  • Kerala
  • Puducherry

  • In Rajya Sabha polls, votes are counted in the night.

    The election course of for these seats had been in the news lately after the EC had earlier put in abeyance these polls.

    The resolution of the ballot panel to problem a contemporary schedule got here on a day when the Kerala High Court directed the it to maintain the biennial election to the three Rajya Sabha seats from the state from the current state meeting.

    “It is seen that at least after it arrived at the decision that it’s the duty to see that the vacancies are filled up at the earliest, the commission is yet to take any steps for the same,” the courtroom mentioned.

    “When the Commission itself has admitted that it is duty-bound to conduct the election and complete the process at the earliest, it is only appropriate that it takes expeditious steps without further delay to complete the election before another electorate comes into existence on May 02, 2021,” Justice P V Asha mentioned in the order.

    Days after the EC put the Rajya Sabha polls in the state in abeyance, Kerala Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan had questioned the “political intervention” behind the fee’s resolution.

    The EC had then responded by saying that the Law Ministry has “no remit” to make suggestion on the schedule of Rajya Sabha elections.

    Monday’s press observe mentioned the EC had then “received a reference” from the Law Ministry “wherein a question of constitutional propriety was raised.”

    Initially, election to the three Rajya Sabha seats was to be held on April 12.

    Members of legislative meeting elect Rajya Sabha members. The MLAs of the outgoing meeting, in which the ruling LDF has a majority, had been to elect the three new members.

    Polling for Kerala meeting elections had been held on April 6 and counting will happen on May 2.

    Rajya Sabha elections are often held earlier than the expiry of the time period of retiring members.

    Leave a Reply

    Monday, May 10, 2021
    All countries
    Total confirmed cases
    Updated on May 10, 2021 12:29 am

    Most Popular

    Most Trending

    Recent Comments

    Chat on WhatsApp
    How can we help you?
    %d bloggers like this: